In recent years, Virginia law enforcement has put more emphasis on speeding, especially on major highways and in cities, according to the Virginia State Police. Minor speeding offenses can be a nuisance, but once the driver has crossed in careless driving, the load and the consequences can be very serious.
What is Reckless Driving?
According to the Regulation of Virginia’s Traffic Code, reckless driving VA misdemeanor is a class 1 misdemeanor which comes with maximum penalties of:
- $2500 fine
- Six (6) DMV points
- Driver’s license suspension for six months
- Jail time for twelve months
Often these sentences are reduced, and a judge can reduce the load to speed, but the charge of careless driving does not require an appearance in court.
Reckless driving VA misdemeanor can be classified into offenses that involve speed, visibility, vehicle control and negligence. In the category of speed, reckless driving is driving at 20 mph above the posted speed limit, or speeding over 80 mph, which can also be considered racing. Driving too fast for the current road conditions can also be considered careless driving. Visibility includes driving with obscured visibility or passing from a car to the crest of a hill. Vehicle control charges include defective brakes or poor vehicle control. Finally, negligence involves passing emergency vehicles or school buses that are in service, the passage of vehicles at level crossings or driving two cars in front, or the passage of two vehicles that operate on roads that do not have multiple lanes. Giving bad signals can also be considered reckless driving VA misdemeanor.
A conviction for reckless driving VA misdemeanor remains on your record for ELEVEN years from the date of the conviction and collects six demerit points, which remain on your driving record for 2 years from the date of the conviction or date of the offense. Driving license suspension occurs if the driver receives more than EIGHTEEN points within TWELVE months or TWENTY FOUR points within a period of two years. One has to attend pilot improvement clinics to earn safety-pilot when the clinic has been mandated by the court. Drivers can earn up to five points in each calendar year in this manner.
PENALTIES OF INSURANCE
Individual insurance companies determine the penalties for driver insurance differently, so there is no universal guide to determining how a charge of reckless driving or belief will affect a driver’s insurance rate. The Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles advises insurance companies to seriously take into consideration points violations, so check directly with your insurance provider if you receive a ticket.
DRIVERS UNDER THE AGE OF EIGHTEEN
Young drivers face stiffer penalties for reckless driving VA misdemeanor. Any conviction of a traffic violation that awards points to a license requires that the young driver successfully completes a pilot improvement clinic or its license will be suspended. Young drivers have 90 days to complete the course requirements. A second winning point penalty results in a 90-day suspension of the license, and a third offense results in the license being revoked for one year or until the driver reaches the age of 18, whichever is longer.